Lighting is a special feature, when activating the lighting you will be getting the default settings, you can change theses in the Lighting category that will appear when the button is activated, the new settings you set will be kept as is even if you turn off the lighting and turn it back on.
To activate / deactivate the lighting just click the light bulb icon in the Features menu.
The Lighting category has now appeared, you can see it has two options, the first one, Radius, plays with the width of the zone around each point where the light will get darker, the second one, Strength, is used to actually set the shadows' strength.
Collaborative mode :
⚠️ This button is not used anymore, the process has been changed, for more information, check the collaborative mode article ⚠️
You can switch between 4 backgrounds in the viewer, the dark blue one (default), the black one, the cloudy sky one (useful when trying to preview an outdoor site) and a white one.
To navigate through the different backgrounds, just click the background button situated in the Features category.
Dark blue (default) :
Cloudy sky :
Virtual Reality :
This button is used to see the project with a VR headset, learn more about this functionality in this article.
High Quality :
This is the fastest way to make your point cloud look better, just click the HQ button situated in the Features category, clicking this button will force your viewer to give you the best image possible without changing the amount of points currently displayed. You will see on the two images below that the differences are very small, but keep in mind that while in the viewer, trying to get a great result, this little difference will be a game changer.
Each box is called a node, all nodes are containing the same amount of points, the smaller the node, the more dense the point cloud is, this allows you to see where the point cloud is the most dense. If you modify the node size you will be increasing or decreasing the amount of points you can see, this can be useful to play with when you have a slow internet connection or if you are having performance issues with your device. (See Appearance settings)
To activate / deactivate the boxes, click the box icon.
Lock view :
The lock view button allows you to stop the viewer from rendering the point cloud, you can change the settings, move your camera around, no changes will be made on the point cloud. By default, every time you move your camera around, the viewer renders the point cloud dynamically to give a high level of performance while keeping the look you want. Activating this option stops the dynamic loading of the point cloud. This can be useful if you have a limited internet connection.
Auto save :
The automatic save allows you to work on your project without worrying about saving it and mostly forgetting about it.
This button is a shortcut to the help-center.
Amovible menus :
By default, this option is activated, when activated the 3 menus within the viewer will hide in the side of the screen when your mouse is far from them and they will come back out when you get close to them, if you deactivate this function, the 3 menus will be fixed on screen and will never hide on the sides.
Custom features :
On the top menu, the last 2 options are actually custom options, these are shortcuts that you can edit yourself to be able to access tools that you use a lot quicker.
At the bottom of the Settings menu on the right, you will find the Custom features' category, the first select represents the second to last option in the top menu and the second select represents the last one.
You can set shortcuts for tools in the following list :
- High Quality
- Lock view
- Auto save
You can change your shortcuts at any moment.
Saving and deleting settings :
That one is pretty self-explanatory, click the disk button to save all the settings you have set for your project, this allows you to come back whenever you want into your project without wasting time on putting back your settings. Also note that these settings are saved by user and by project so you can have a different setting for each project without interfering with the others, also your collaborators can have their settings without impacting yours within the same project.
Click the trash icon to delete your saved settings for this project, use this in case you wish to come back to the default settings.
In case of any problem or difficulty, please do not hesitate to contact the platform's team.